Skip to main contentSkip to navigationSkip to search

SAS Group Management

Group Management is responsible for the company’s business management, financial reporting, acquisitions /disposals, financing and communication and other corporate matters.

The members of the Group Management are appointed by the President in consultation with the Board of Directors. Only the President reports to the Board, although the other members of Group Management reports to the President. 

Group Management’s responsibilities are divided among its members with regard to managing the company’s business affairs, and minuted meetings are normally held every second week.

Anko van der Werff

Anko van der Werff, born 1975

President & CEO. Member of SAS Group Management since July 15, 2021.

Previously: CEO of Avianca 2019-2021, Executive Vice President & Chief Commercial Officer at Aeroméxico 2014-2019, several leading management positions at Qatar Airways and AirFrance KLM 2006-2014.

External directorships: None.

Education: Law degree Leiden University, Exec degree Harvard Business School.

Shareholding: 0

Erno Hildén

Erno Hildén, born 1971

Executive Vice President & CFO. Member of SAS Group Management since April, 2022.

Previously:Has held positions both as Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer at Finnair. Recently he also held a position as Executive Vice President at Saudi Arabian Airlines.

External directorships: None.

Education: MSc. in Economics and Business Administration from University of Tampere

Shareholding: 0

Charlotte Svensson, born 1967

Executive Vice President & CIO. Member of SAS Group Management since February 1, 2020.

Previously: Head of Digital & Communication Services and member of Group Executives in Post Nord 2017-2020, Business Area Manager for the letter operations in the Nordic region. Before that, CTO within the Bonnier Group.

External directorships: Board member of ICA Gruppen and Combient Mix AB.

Education: Executive Program, Strategy at Stanford University, studies in physics and mathematics at Chalmers University of Technology and graduation in systems science from Karlstad University.

Shareholding: 50,000 common shares

Jason Mahoney, born 1971

Executive Vice President & COO. Member of SAS Group Management since May 1, 2023.

Previously: Chief Operating Officer, Chief Technical at British Airways, Director of Engineering and Maintenance at TUI.

External directorships: Non Exec Director at Dublin Aerospace Limited

Education: Applied Management, University of Warwick. Management, leadership and engagement, IMD.

Shareholding: 0

Kjetil Håbjørg, born 1971

Executive Vice President Airline Services. Member of SAS Group Management since October 1, 2019.

Previously: Vice President SAS Ground Handling and several previous senior positions at SAS. Before being recruited to SAS in 2004, worked as a management consultant.

External directorships: Board member of Federation of Norwegian Aviation industries (NHO Luftfart).

Education: Executive MBA, Master in Strategic Management from Norwegian School of Economics (NHH).

Shareholding: 25,000 common shares.

Paul Verhagen, born 1971

Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer (CCO). Member of SAS Group Management since September 4, 2023

Previously: Deputy CEO at Iberojet Airlines 2020-2023, Senior Vice President International Sales and Commercial Strategy at Aeromexico 2016-2020, several leadership positions at Air Berlin and Air France KLM 2000-2016

External directorships: None.

Education: International MBA IE University, executive programs at Nijenrode University, HEC Paris, Cornell University

Shareholding: 0

Erik Westman, born 1981

Executive Vice President and Chief Revenue Officer. Member of SAS Group Management since June 27, 2022.

Previously: Vice President Revenue Management at SAS 2017-22, Vice President Group Strategy at SAS 2014-17. Worked at McKinsey before joining SAS in 2013

External directorships: None

Education: M. Sc. In Engineering Physics from KTH, Stockholm. Exchange studies at Stanford University.

Shareholding: 0

Anna Almén

Anna Almén, born 1970

Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer. Member of SAS Group Management since 1 January, 2024

Previously: Vice President General Counsel, SAS Group

External directorships: None

Education: University of Stockholm, Sweden: Jurist kandidatexamen (LLM). University of Nottingham, England: Master of International Commercial Law

Shareholding: None

Pernille Ormholt Vang

Pernille Ormholt Vang, born 1977

Chief People Officer, Executive Vice President, Member of SAS Group Management since January 1, 2024

Previously: Regional Head of HR Maersk Asia Pacific Region 2020-2023, Regional Head of HR Maersk West Central Asia Region 2017-2020, Head of HQ HR & HR Legal A.P. Moller - Maersk 2015-2017. Prior to this several HR leadership positions at A.P. Moller – Maersk and experience from external consulting.

External directorships: None.

Education: Master in Psychology & Business Studies, Roskilde University.

Shareholding: 0