Skip to main contentSkip to navigationSkip to search

Even more upgrade opportunities for EuroBonus members

April 8, 2009 10:00

All members of SAS Scandinavian Airlines’ frequent flyer program EuroBonus can as of today redeem their points for upgrades on Air China and Shanghai Airlines. The two airlines have with immediate effect joined the Star Alliance Upgrade Awards program. It also entitles Air China’s PhoenixMiles members and Shanghai Airlines’ Crane Club members to upgrade on SAS flights.SAS operates daily flights between Copenhagen and Beijing, and code-shares with Air China to four Chinese destinations (Chengdu, Guangzhou, Hong Kong and Shanghai). United Airlines will as of today also resume offering Star Alliance Upgrade Awards to their Mileage Plus members, thereby entitling SAS passengers to upgrade on United flights.

With a Star Alliance Upgrade Award, a confirmed and ticketed booking can be upgraded prior to travel for a higher class of travel, using EuroBonus points. The upgrade is processed electronically, eliminating the need to issue paper certificates. Upgrades are permitted for one class of travel, either from Economy Class (Economy Extra on SAS) to Business Class or from Business Class to First Class. Additionally, on Air China, Shanghai Airlines and United flights offering First and Economy Class only, upgrades from Economy to First are possible. All upgrades are pending availability and upgrades from certain types of fares are not possible.

Star Alliance, the way the Earth connects, is the first global airline alliance to offer a product such as the Star Alliance Upgrade Award. SAS’ EuroBonus members can use their points to upgrade when flying Air China, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Shanghai Airlines, Singapore Airlines, SWISS, TAP Portugal, THAI, Turkish Airlines and United.

EuroBonus is Scandinavian Airlines’ frequent flier program. Launched in 1997, it has over 2.8 million members worldwide. It was named “Program of the Year” by the prestigious Freddie Awards for seven consecutive years.
For more information, please contact:
Kerstin Ellerberg Hassel, Director EuroBonus Partnerships
Tel: +46709974118; E-mail:
About Star Alliance:
The Star Alliance network was established in 1997 as the first truly global airline alliance to offer customers worldwide reach and a smooth travel experience. Star Alliance received the Air Transport World Market Leadership Award in 2008 and was voted Best Airline Alliance by Business Traveller Magazine in 2003, 2006, 2007 and 2008 and by Skytrax in 2003, 2005 and 2007. The members are Air Canada, Air China, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, bmi, EGYPTAIR, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Shanghai Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, Spanair, SWISS, TAP Portugal, Turkish Airlines, THAI, United and US Airways. Regional member carriers Adria Airways (Slovenia), Blue1 (Finland) and Croatia Airlines enhance the global network. Air India, Brussels Airlines, Continental Airlines and TAM have been announced as future members. Overall, the Star Alliance network offers more than 16,500 daily flights to 912 destinations in 159 countries.

Latest news

We at SAS use cookies to optimize our websites for your needs. By using this website you consent to our cookies policy. If you want to find out more or disable cookies, please click here